Fast-a Pastas

Being a daughter of a cook, it is expected that I have the same skills in the kitchen as my mom. Even though she never underwent any training or studied courses related to food and beverages, my mom’s talent is incomparable to those who actually went under professional schooling.

Pressured with that kind of expectation, I asked my mom if she could share her techniques, if she had one, but she declined, saying that “Kung gusto mo matutong magluto, magluto ka. Hindi mo kailangan magbasa ng cookbook, o manood ng cooking shows. Dapat gawin mo. Mag eksperimento ka.” To make a long story short, she never taught me the ways around the kitchen—I had to go and find the way myself.

And so I tried. Went from mixing, frying, baking, to eventually burning everything. But after many years of trial and error, I finally found my way to the kitchen. My love lies for those herbs, spices, olive oils—yummy easy-to-cook pasta dishes. Yes, I may not be as good as my mom when it comes to preparing meat, poultry, vegetables, and even canned and processed food into mouth-watering wonders, but I take pride into my knack for making restaurant-like pasta dishes.

Garlic PastaNo time to hit the grocery? Don’t fret, for all you need are already in the kitchen! Just get your pasta pack ready, six cloves of garlic, olive oil, and parsley. Boil the noodles as stated in the direction. Fry the garlic in the olive oil. Mix with the garlic with cooked noodles. Garnish with parsley. Add salt and pepper to taste. Then your garlic pasta is ready! Easy as 1-2-3!

Tuna PestoPesto is a staple in those expensive Italian restaurants. Intimidating, yes it is. But there is an easy and cheap way in preparing this popular dish. All you need is the usual pasta pack, tuna (Century Tuna flakes in water may do), basil, olive oil, and some herbs and spice to taste. Cook the noodles as stated in the direction. Mix the tuna, basil, and olive oil together (if you do not have a food processor, a blender will do). Combine the tuna-basil paste with the noodles. Add salt and pepper, and any other herbs and spice to taste (trust me, any herbs and spices will do.) Garnish with basil leaves. Yummy pesto now ready to serve!

Those are two of my very own pasta dishes. May not sound that original, but my own ways of preparing makes these dishes so-Khat! Don’t be too scared to mix things together, and don’t be too intimidated with the sound of pasta dishes. You’ll never know, your kitchen is so full of pasta ingredients that may substitute those expensive ones! Try and try, and make sure to have someone to taste your masterpieces!

2 responses to “Fast-a Pastas

  1. i do love pasta, hoping that before leaving the country you will cook tuna pesto for me. simple and detailed article (89)

Leave a Reply

